Tasty Tuesday: Blackberry Quinoa with Feta, Artichokes, and Greens… It’s Good, I Swear!

I feel like all my recipes thus far have been along the lines of, “This is delicious, I promise!  You can’t tell from the picture/name/ingredient list, but this is totally good.  For real.”

Well, here’s another one of those for you!

No, this dish does not look that great.  I’m not into photography.  Sorry.  For three years, I had a food blog that I took pretty seriously –painstakingly photographing food as best I could with my little Canon handheld– but I’m only taking this blog semi-seriously, or “not seriously” if you want to get really technical.  So the photos are no good.

But honestly, this little quinoa salad is really tasty, and you should try it if you are intrigued by the ingredient list.

I have had this recipe from Lucullian Delights on my “to make” list for over a year.  Now, I don’t eat fish, but I still wanted to give it a try.  Here’s what I came up with, and it is dern good:

Blackberry Quinoa with Feta, Artichokes, and Greens

Ingredients

– 1 cup uncooked quinoa

– 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

– salt and pepper

– a big handful of chopped mustard greens

– 1 cup canned artichoke hearts

– about 1/3 cup of crumbled feta

Dressing (sorry, don’t remember the measurements)

– Blackberry jam

– honey

– a teeny bit of water

– salt

– lemon juice

– extra virgin olive oil

Directions

Prepare quinoa according to package directions.

While it’s cooking, heat olive oil in a pan, and saute chopped greens.  When they start to wilt, add artichokes, salt and pepper, and cook until the greens are completely cooked and wilted (about 10 minutes?  I like mine to be more chewy, so maybe longer if you’re not into that).  Add the mixture to the cooked quinoa and stir in feta.

Prepare dressing by whisking all the ingredients together and add to the pot.  Go easy on the dressing!  A little bit goes a long way, so add a spoonful or two, then taste it before you add more.

Sprinkle a little bit of extra feta on the top and enjoy!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    yosoyblog said,

    Blackberry jam…very interesting!


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

