Music Monday: Willow Smith Makes Me Feel Like a Big Lame Loser

When I saw Willow Smith’s “Whip My Hair” video the other day, I was reminded of my own childhood.  I was pretty much exactly like her.

Just kidding.  I don’t understand how young children get to be this hip.  I mean, I understand that Willow Smith is hardly the standard for normality.  But honestly, most kids today are way cooler than anyone from my middle school in the 90s.

I think they are too cool, in fact.  It doesn’t seem fair.  When I was teaching, I constantly felt like the least trendy person in a room full of 6th graders.  That’s just not right.  (In fact, I would probably compare myself to the old lady doing the splits at 3:23 in the video.)  When I was in 6th grade, I was buying sweatshort outfits at the Limited Too and listening to Blues Traveler.  Now children are sporting Major Lazer T-shirts and making homemade remixes of Sonic Youth and Ol’ Dirty Bastard.

Look at these assholes.  Who knows what they are up to/what beats they will be dropping in the coming months?

I feel like this would have been a much more appropriate video for Willow Smith to release:

I realize that I sound like an old grump, a la, “These kids today with their Rock AND Roll!”  But I don’t care!  It’s not right that I’m 27 and feel intimidated by a 9-year-old with a neon mohawk!!

FYI, Parents: You can force your children to be dorks.  Seriously.  Think about the rest of us.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    I totally agree. Living by a middle school, I constantly see these super hip young lads and lasses walking by in their skinny jeans and have to resist the urge to ask them where they shop.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

