Tasty Tuesday: Avocado + Pomegranate + Blue Cheese = Where have you been all my life?

Last weekend, I went to the California Avocado Festival in Carpinteria.  I had a great time celebrating avocados, and I enjoyed the following items:

Item Name

Tasty?

Tasted like avocado?

Chips and guacamole Yes! Yes!

Avocado honey ale from Island Brewing Company

Yes!
Avocado ice cream Yes!
More chips and guacamole Yes! Yes!

This pretty much sums up the humble yet mysterious avocado: it is always tasty, but it is also an enigma of subtlety.  Therefore, wacky avocado dishes don’t always showcase the awesomeness of the friendly green fruit itself.  You don’t want to overpower the avocado with something that steals its thunder.  But you also need to pick something bold so that your dish won’t drown in blah.

First, some fun avocado facts:

1.This was the first Google image result for a search of “sexy avocado.”

2. Avocado comes from the Aztec word “ahuacatl” which means “testicle.”  Yumbo!

3. Avocados are prehistoric, yo.  Woolly mammoths were fans of avocados because their giant guts could handle the big undigestible seed in the middle.

4. I love avocados.  🙂

It seems to me that the key to making a good avocado recipe is to use ingredients with contrasting textures (ie. crunchy) and flavors (ie. spicy).  This is why it’s hard to beat chips and guac as the world’s most perfect food.

This is one recipe that embraces the greatness of guacamole, but is also unique.  I by no means invented it: I’ve seen it on restaurant menus and food blogs all over the place.  You can make a full-blown guacamole as the base, but I just used avocado, shallot, and lemon juice because I feel like pomegranate and blue cheese are pretty assertive flavors.  I just want a party in my mouth, not a rave. JEEZ.

Avocado + Pomegranate + Blue Cheese

Ingredients

– 2 ripe avocados

– Seeds from one pomegranate

– 1 shallot, minced

– 2 squeezes of lemon juice

– salt and pepper to taste

– crumbled blue cheese

Directions

Mash avocado.  Stir in pomegranate seeds, lemon juice, shallot, salt, and pepper.  Put in a bowl and sprinkle blue cheese on top.  Serve with your chip of choice.

Yep, that’s about it!  Nothing fancy, but super yummy.  You can make this as an appetizer or snack.  You can also be like me and just eat tons of it, turning your snack into dinner–or as I call it, “sinner.”

Give it a try: you will like!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    yosoyblog said,

    haha you crackly me up with that sexy avocado. Avocado beer sounds so awesome! Sounds like it was just like regular beer tho. Oh wellz

  2. 2

    Erika said,

    LOVE the dish you served it in;)

  3. 3

    Katie W said,

    Kirby! I like your new blog. I do have to say something about avocados though. I once sampled avocado frozen yogurt at Whole Foods, thinking it would be awesome because I love avocados. And I can say, almost without qualification, that it was the grossest thing I’ve ever eaten in my life. My mom agreed. I guess I’m lucky that I’ve never had to eat anything grosser, but still. So I’m glad avocado ice cream was not a similar experience.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

